Activities

Hooked on Books meets October 4

12:30 pm – 2:00 pm

Drop-in Group.  Members $2, Non-members $5

September Book: – Code Girls by Liza Mundy

hooked on books_oct In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the astonishing, untold story of the young American women who cracked key Axis codes, helping to secure Allied victory and revolutionizing the field of cryptanalysis.

Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them. A strict vow of secrecy nearly erased their efforts from history; now, through dazzling research and interviews with surviving code girls, bestselling author Liza Mundy brings to life this riveting and vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.

 

Meets the first Tuesday of the month.


Hooked on Books has a different discussion leader each month. Books are chosen by group discussion and often by a vote.

2022 BOOK LIST

October 4 – Code Girls by Liza Mundy
November 1 – The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich
December 6 – Anxious People by Frederik Backman
January 3, 2023 – A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s